DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. DAY CELEBRATION 2023

"Chasing the Dream, Arriving Together, Standing in The Light"

Ushers: St. John's Congregational Church Greeters: Zeta Phi Beta Sorority

Masters of Ceremony: Andrew Cade and Azell Cavaan joined by student MCs Maliah-Skhi Matthews and Joshua Lopez

House Band: Billy Arnold, drums: Jimmy Daggs, bass; Steve Donovan, piano

Pledge of Allegiance

Color Guards: Central High School ROTC/The Prince Hall Free and Accepted Masons from the Third Masonic District of Massachusetts

MLK Festival Bucket Drummers

MLK Festival Bucket Drummers, Rick Marshall, Director, featuring students from Sonido Musica Public School partnership: Boland Elementary, Commerce HS, Duggan Academy, Dryden Elementary, Kiley Academy, John F Kennedy Academy, MLK Family Services, MLK Charter School of Excellence, St. Michael's Academy, Rebecca Johnson School, STEM Academy, Sumner Avenue, White St. School, Metcalf Dual Language School, Lt. Clayre P. Sullivan School

Unity Prayer

The Reverend Michael DeVine, Pastor of St. Peter's Episcopal Church; Rev. Dr. Atu White, Pastor of Mt. Zion Baptist Church, Pastor Maria Aponte of Casa de Paz y Restauración & Family Therapist at Family Restoration Counseling Services & Minister Isaiah Delmoral of LifeStream Ministries

"Lift Every Voice and Sing"

CommUnity Chorale, Vanessa Ford Director, joined by Community Music School of Springfield's Sonido Musica students, singers from MLK Family Services youth from Parent Villages, and MLK Charter School of Excellence, directed by Adrianelys Sanchez, Martin Luther King, Jr. Charter School of Excellence

"Standing In the Light"

Waleska Lugo DeJesus, Inclusive Strategies, LLC

Musical Selection- Sonido Music Perform "Odd Times"

Original composition by Rick Marshall, featuring students from Sonido Musica School Partnership programs: Dryden Elementary, Duggan Academy, STEM Academy Springfield, John F. Kennedy Academy, Kiley Academy, Springfield Honors Academy, STEMAcademy Springfield, Baird Middle School, White St. School, St. Michael's Academy with soloist Kyren Harris

Greetings & Reflections

Honorable Mayor Domenic Sarno Springfield Legislative Delegation, Springfield City Council Springfield Public School Committee

"Born to Dream", Springfield CommUnity Chorale

Springfield Community Chorale performing original composition by Vanessa Ford, featuring Shawn Jiles as lead soloist, accompanied by Christopher Baymon and Aaron Baymon, Jr.

Oratory Performance

Mah'dee Naylor Jr., participant in the of 2022 Senator Edward W. Brooke III Oratorical Competition, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated

MLK Festival Orchestra

Marty Knieriem, Director; joined by students, alumni, and friends of Community Music School of Springfield performing "Water In the Moonlight" by Thomas (Blind Tom) Wiggins

Sonido Musica Students, "Stand Up" by Cynthia Erivo

Sonido Musica, Community Music School Public School Partnership: Eleni Yalanis, Director, featuring students soloists Chestina Thrower, Javelin Parra and David Villaneueva-Duran and students from Boland Elementary, Dryden Elementary, Donahue School, Gerena Community School, Duggan Academy, STEM Academy Springfield, John F. Kennedy Academy, Kiley Academy, Holyoke High School, Lt. Clayre P. Sullivan School, Metcalf Dual Language School, McMahon School, EN White School, Commerce High School, Springfield Honors Academy, Sci-Tech, Chestnut Tag, STEM Academy Springfield, Baird Middle School, White St. School, Mary Lynch Elementary; joined by students of MLK Family Services, MLK Charter School of Excellence and youth from Parent Villages

Charge of the Day: Dr. Calvin Hill

"We Shall Overcome" Led by Vanessa Ford and the Springfield CommUnity Chorale joined youth from CMSS Sonido Musica,, MLK Family Services, MLK Charter School of Excellence, youth from Parent Villages

Special thanks to Volunteers: Dial/Self Americorp; Literacy Lab, Springfield College Americorp, United Way of PioneerValley, MGM

2023 MLK Day Planning Committee: Vanessa Ford, Patricia Bernard, Lenise Williams, Karon Forde, Waleska Lugo-DeJesus, Gladys Mbugua, Eileen McCaffery, Marty Knieriem, Eleni Yalanis, Rick Marshall, Calvin Hill, Brendon Holland, Azell Cavaan, Jose Escribano, Andrew Maxwell, Andrew Cade, Vanessa Cerillo, Cynthia Griffin and Abi Stechmann